8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2013 1:21 AM by jmw

Importing (capturing) data from glucose meter

pauhana658

Title

Importing (capturing) data from glucose meter

I measure my blood glucose thrice daily using an Ultrasmart meter. Every so often, I import those measurements into a Filemaker 12 database on my iMac so that I have a complete history with charts to show my doctor.  

But the import process is nasty, involving Parallels 8, a proprietary Windows program and USB cable, importing and then exporting the measurements as a csv file, opening that file in Excel and reformatting the dates, and then importing the resulting data into Filemaker. 

I'm no expert on data capture, but surely there is a simpler way to download those readings into Filemaker directly from the meter without all the tedious intermediary Parallels/Windows/Excel steps. Does anyone have any experience bringing data into FileMaker directly from an attached device, such as a meter, sensor, etc.? How can I set up Filemaker to download the measurements and automatically format them? Is it feasible? Is it even possible?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Importing (capturing) data from glucose meter
          philmodjunk

I know of at least one way, but last time I checked it wasn't cheap. Check out the Troi web site for FileMaker plug ins. There's one that you can use to directly read data from a device connected to your computer via USB.

Another poster shared a link to a site that may offer a less expensive alternative if it can be adapted to your needs: http://www.billproduction.com/billscalebalance/

• 2. Re: Importing (capturing) data from glucose meter
            FilmUser

You might try this site

http://www.productivecomputing.com/

They make pluggins  for FMP and have (or had the last time I called) good (at least pre-sale) phone support .

• 3. Re: Importing (capturing) data from glucose meter
              pauhana658

Hello!