8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2014 12:10 PM by SomeFileMakerNoob

Importing and storing data

SomeFileMakerNoob

Title

Importing and storing data

Hey All,

I'm pretty new to DB programming, loving FMP though. So far has been easy sailing. Finally hit a brick wall though. Basically, here's what I'm looking at. We have a customer DB where we import a monthly Excel which contains about 60k+ lines every month. What I need advice on is...I don't know how to explain it, so bear with me please. Here's what I need it to do.

1. Import new month and display in main search layouts

2. Previous months data is stored for 6 months and is viewable in a separate layout. 

So, basically I would need the newest data to be displayed in any newer searches, then I would have a "history" portal for each of the previous 6 months. I'm sure I'm being very obscure, I can provide more data if need be. I was just looking for general ideas. 

Thanks for your help in advance.

Scott

FMP 13 adv

• 1. Re: Importing and storing data
          philmodjunk

1) Import records can import the data from an excel file into one or more tables in your database. This can be automated with a script.

2) Import records can also copy data from one FileMaker table to another in the same file, but you can also put all of this data in one table and set up layouts with scripts or a portal that only lists data in a given date range such as just the records for the most recent month.

Records more than 6 months old could be found and deleted from your table or you could first export them to an "archive" table so that you have the data in a FileMaker table if you later find that you need to reference the data in FileMaker.

• 2. Re: Importing and storing data
            SomeFileMakerNoob