4 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2012 4:58 AM by Sorbsbuster

Importing checkbox values from CSV file...

AndrewGosling

Title

Importing checkbox values from CSV file...

Hi.. complete newbie here, so pardon my ignorance...

I have set up a simple registration page on a website using Jotform. The final question on the webpage form is a checkbox list (named "Days Attending") with the days of the week and five checkboxes.

I can download a CSV file from JotForm, import it into my FileMaker DB (with matching fields), and all goes swimmingly until I get to the check box values.

The CSV file says "Days Attending" followed by a list of the days that have been checked (Mon,Tue, etc). 

How can I get these values to correspond to checkboxes in my FileMaker DB?

I am wondering if I'll have to use "Replace Field Contents", as is mentioned in this forum topic: 

http://forums.filemaker.com/posts/d2f36593fa

• 1. Re: Importing checkbox values from CSV file...
          GuyStevens

Your checkbox in Filemaker should then have the same values.

"File" - "Manage" - "Value Lists"

If your Checkbox values are "Monday" "Tuesday" ...
          And you import "Monday" in the field the checkbox for monday will be checked.

• 2. Re: Importing checkbox values from CSV file...
            philmodjunk

If the individual values of the check box list appear in the csv file as comma separated values, then you will not be able to import the values into the same field as a return separated list of values--what your FileMaker checkbox group needs to display the same selected values.

Replace Field Contents can be used to do a "post import cleanup" of your data but not quite as described in the thread you referenced.

a) You'd need a separate field for each value that might be selected.