1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 9, 2010 8:49 AM by philmodjunk

Importing CSV and Manipulating Data Imported

Solution69

Title

Importing CSV and Manipulating Data Imported

hi, I am new to FM and so far its day 2 of it being installed at work.  I am trying to ease my pain with working alongside csv files and have managed to get data to import nicely into filemaker.

I could however use some help from the community here.

lets say i have a set of fields

field1 is called retail_price

field2 is called cost_price

field3 is called product_name

field4 is called xport_prod_name

for field 2, if I have an imported data of n/a is there a way for me to set it so that field 1 + xx%

additionally for field 4, I would like to format it so that field4 = field3 however the text is formatted differently and all spaces are converted over to a dash "-" i.e. this-had-some-spaces-but-now-has-dashes

also, lastly is there a way to automate this with a script for each csv file i import in the future so that way i can click a button and have it perform this for me?

kind regards,

solution69

• 1. Re: Importing CSV and Manipulating Data Imported
          philmodjunk

"for field 2, if I have an imported data of n/a is there a way for me to set it so that field 1 + xx%

additionally for field 4, I would like to format it so that field4 = field3 however the text is formatted differently and all spaces are converted over to a dash "-" i.e. this-had-some-spaces-but-now-has-dashes"

Both of these can be done with auto-entered calculations set on field 2 and field 4. To define an auto-entered calculation, find the field's definition in Manage | Database | Fields, double-click it, select the auto-enter tab and click the calculation option.

For field 2, you could use: If ( self = "n/a" ; "1 + xx%" ; self )