7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2009 2:56 PM by philmodjunk

Importing objects

ChasBuk

Title

Importing objects

I need to import 35,000 records to include a reference to a PDF

member_number|lname|fname|scan of application

M1234|Jones|Julio|M1234.PDF

I want to click on the PDF and have it come up full screen in Adobe.

I understand that the PDF reference must be in a container, but I don't know how import the reference (which would be something like "../new_members/scans/M1234.PDF)

I'm a newbie testing this for a customer. I normally use MySQL. Win7/32

• 1. Re: Importing objects
          philmodjunk
             Is this a reference to the same PDF or a folder of PDF files which must be linked to different records?
          • 2. Re: Importing objects
            ChasBuk
               This would be to a folder with 35,000 PDFs in it.  One for each record (member).
            • 3. Re: Importing objects
              philmodjunk

That's a challenge. Import Records | Folder was my first thought, but I see that it only works as desired for pictures and text files--not PDF's.

Does the information in your database provide the necessary data to compute the file path to the specific PDF for a given record? If so you can do this in a script that computes the path and places the result in a variable and then uses Insert File to insert the specified PDF...

Otherwise, you may want to research plug ins to see if one will fill the gap here for you.

• 4. Re: Importing objects
                ChasBuk
                   I can certainly put the path and the file name in the field.  Regardless of what I put into the field, I want to be able to click on whatever it is and have the PDF pop up.  Let me restate the question.  What can I put in a field that will cause a PDF to pop up when I click on it?  I can populate the field with file name, path+filiename or whatever is needed to get the PDF to pop up.
                • 5. Re: Importing objects