13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2011 8:21 AM by Sorbsbuster

importing photos

PeterKaplan

Title

importing photos

I have only one question: I use Filemaker 11. I am a photographer and I have created a database with many of my pictures in it. The problem is that I select the picture and import it correctly (I hope) and everything is fine, except say the next day I get a dialog box where my photo was placed saying it cannot find my photo.This happens frequently, but not all the time., so I'm wondering what I must be doing incorrectly. I store the pictures by reference and that works and then it doesen't, I've changed the file format and that works, but then it doesen't so you can see, I'm a little at a loss as to what to do. Can you help......please

• 1. Re: importing photos
          TSGal

Peter Kaplan:

Thank you for your post.

When you insert and store only a reference to the file, FileMaker Pro should keep track of where it is on your hard disk.  If you "frequently" get the message that the file cannot be found, then either the referenced file has moved (which appears this isn't the case), the FileMaker file is damaged, FileMaker Pro doesn't like something about the reference, or the file/folder information is damaged on the OS (unlikely).

First, run a Recover on the file (from the File menu).  Use the Recovered file, link the referenced file again and see if the problem persists.  If that fails, try creating a new user account, login to the new user account, open the file, and since you are in a new user account, the file references may have changed, so link a few files and see if the problem continues.

TSGal
          FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: importing photos
            philmodjunk

If the image file is located on an external drive, you will also get such a message if that shared directory is not currently mounted on your machine.

• 3. Re: importing photos
              PeterKaplan