3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 8:34 AM by comment_1

importing photos into a new table

fhfred

Title

importing photos into a new table

I am using FileMaker Pro 10 in conjunction with Aperture (using Mac OSX - Leopard). I am a newbie and have just started exporting my photos from Aperture to FileMaker (using the plugin). I have several different projects and albums that I want to export to one database. I want to work with my albums as different tables, but when I export my album or project from Aperture to FileMaker Pro, the files automatically save to the Aperture_Photo table. I have created another table, but I can't find a way to transfer the photos from one table to the other. Is there a way to either save my other albums to separate tables or move the photos to a new table once I've brought them into the database?

Thus far, I have used both the Photo Catalog database from the starter kit and also an empty database. Ideally, I'd like to keep using the empty database so that I can manipulate it more.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: importing photos into a new table
          philmodjunk

It sounds like you should read up on Import Records. This is a tool that you can use to move records (including your pictures) from one table to another in the same file or different files. There's also a "new table" option that can be used to create a new table as part of the import process.

You can learn more about the various options for Import Records in the Filemaker Help system.

• 2. Re: importing photos into a new table
            fhfred

I read up on Import Records. Unfortunately, since I'm using the ApertureToFileMaker plugin, I'm technically exporting from Aperture to FileMaker. So I never see an Import Field Mapping dialog box (or any dialog box, for that matter).