5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2014 9:54 AM by JimCondon

Income Statement

JimCondon

Title

Income Statement

I am new to databases in general.  Have been working with FileMaker for a couple of months and recently hit a roadblock.  

I have two tables, one with expense data and one with revenue date.  I am trying to build an income statement, by year, that summarizes the data, and lists multiple years in a traditional format - labels in column one, 2010 in column 2, 2011 in column 3, etc.  I created a third table called annual, which contains one record for each year, and 4 fields per record:  Year, Revenue, Expenses, Net Income.  The numbers work fine, my issues is printing out a report with each year in a column.  

I could easily do each year in a row using a portal, but that is not the way any user of financial information would look at such a report.

Is there anyway to show multiple records from the same database on one form (i.e. a vertical portal)?

My only solution is to expand the number of fields to 2010 Revenue, 2011 Revenue, 2012 Revenue, etc.  But, that seems too awkward.  I am sure I must be missing something.

Thank you, in advance, for your comments.  I appreciate your time.

Page-01.jpeg

• 1. Re: Income Statement
          philmodjunk

I could easily do each year in a row using a portal, but that is not the way any user of financial information would look at such a report.

Actually one row portals are a commonly used method to arrange date from different records into columns. This need not be a problem for "any user of financial information" as the presence of portals would be transparent and serve only to put the data into columns to produce the format shown on your sample report.