5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2010 3:18 PM by Steve Wright

Initial Window Size.

Tacitus

Title

Initial Window Size.

Wasn't sure whether to start a new post here since this also relates to this thread

I'm new to FMP and bearing in mind that FMP has an autoresize facility, how do others decide on the size of the main database window if the dBase is to be used with both earlier versions of FMP (8 & 8.5) as well as Mac and Windows platforms each of which has a different approach to window sizing?

EG Do you design it to look optimum on (say) a 1280 x 1024 monitor and then use the resize option to cover other larger sizes on the basis that there probably aren't many smaller monitors left in use.  

My initial thoughts are to design for around a 1000 x 700 initial window (should be OK 'as with FMP8) and allow autoresize to cope with any larger monitors, but before diving in I wondered what approach experienced FMP Devs use.

Thanks for any advice.

• 1. Re: Initial Window Size.
          ninja

Howdy,

I'm sure that approaches vary all across the spectrum on this one, so let me tell you what I use and let others relate what they use.  Perhaps a consensus will emerge, perhaps not.

I design for the smallest screen I think is likely to be used so that all can use the Dbase effectively.  I then use Get(Screenwidth) to see if it a widescreen and either adjust the zoom level or switch to another layout that has "extra" buttons on the side.

Note that I typically build only for in-house use, I am not a 'hire-out' developer (insert proper term here...I dunno...freelance?) and I have a pretty good feel for what size screens I'm working with.  The "extra" buttons also add a little momentum for the folks with 6year old CRT monitors to request an upgrade...

I'm sure there are many, many other approaches...this is mine, quick and easy.  I can't say I've spent much time thinking about what the optimal approach would be.

• 2. Re: Initial Window Size.
            Steve Wright