1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 16, 2009 6:37 AM by david_lalonde@d-cogit.ca

Insert File Button

hb7of9

Title

Insert File Button

HI I'm new to FileMarker Pro Advanced and am in the processes of setting up a client database.

One of the requirements is that the database must be able to upload files related to each client; therefore I have created a Insert Field button. But I can't get it to work.

The questions I have is: Insert file, is this the correct type of button for this to append a file to the clients details ?

This button requires a target field, which just takes me a different section of the application.

Thanks in advance 

• 1. Re: Insert File Button
          david_lalonde@d-cogit.ca

The Insert File script step allows you to insert a file into a field.

For this script step to work, the target field, if specified, must be a container field. If not specified, the user must give focus to a container field.

The source file is the file you wish to insert into the field. If you specify the source file, then your users will not need to select the file. If the source file is not specifies, then the user will be prompted to select a file from his/her computer.

The "Store only as a reference" option tells FileMaker Pro to either import the file into FileMaker Pro or to simply record the file's location. There are advantages to using either option.