4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2011 9:52 AM by DavidRuggles

Insert image in related table

DavidRuggles

Title

Insert image in related table

I'm an old programmer, but new to filemaker (that can make things challenging Wink)

Background: I started with the Inventory Starter Solution and the first thing I would like to do is have multiple images per inventory item.

What I've done that doesn't work: I created a Photos table and related it to the Inventory table on Inventory::K_ID_Record I then changed the Insert Picture script:

• Freeze Window
      • Go to Layout ["Photos" (Photos)] (In my research there appears to be no other way to change databases)
      • New Record/Request
      • Go to Field [Photos::item_key] (my related field)
      • Insert from Last Visited [Select; Inventory::k_ID_Record] (this is what doesn't work, I'm trying to get the k_ID_Record from the Inventory item I was on when I clicked "Insert Picture")
      • Go to Field [Photos::photo]
      • Insert Picture [] (this works fine)
      • Go to Layout [original layout]

any pointers would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

• 1. Re: Insert image in related table
          philmodjunk

Try it this way:

Set Variable [$ID ; Inventory::K_ID_Record]
          Go To Layout [Photos]
          New Record/Request
          Set Field [Photos::Item_Key ; $ID]

BTW, Photos isn't a "database" it's a table. And you definitely need to use Go To Layout to change the "current table occurrence" during script execution. Each layout refers to a table occurrence in "show records from" in layout Setup... Each table occurrence is a "box" in Manage | Database |Relationships. Each such table occurrence has it's own, current record, found set and sort order for each FileMaker window currently open.

For more on table occurrences, you can check out this tutorial on the concept: 

Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences?

• 2. Re: Insert image in related table
            DavidRuggles