Insert or search a related record

valeriorrrr

Title

Insert or search a related record

Hi, I'm a FMPRO 11 newbie and I need your help for a probably easy task:

I have some tables:

person(CODE, name, surname, ...)

terapy(ID, name, days, ...) autoincremented id

request(ID, Person, Terapy, date, ....) with Person referencing person::CODE and Terapy referencing terapy::ID

I created a layout for my requests that has autoincremented id and I added the fields for my 'person' table too. When I use the layout in 'use mode' I can enter new persons easily but I cannot search (= 'reause') an already created person since when I insert an already inserted person::CODE in the form it violetes the primary key requirements (unicity).

How can I make a single form for 'person' in which when I write a new CODE it creates a new person and when I write an existing one it just displays all the other fields?

• 1. Re: Insert or search a related record
          philmodjunk

You appear to have these relationships (Correct me if I am wrong...):

Person---<Request>----Terapy

Person::Code = Request::Person
          Terapy::ID = Request::Terapy

Why do you want to enter a person's code at all? Wouldn't it be simpler to select their name from a drop down list with a "new person" button to use if they do not appear in the drop down list? A drop down list can put the Code from Person in field 1 and their name in Field 2 so that you are selecting a person's name in the drop down list, but the field stores the Code of the person selected.

(And if "Code" is not an auto-entered serial number, you should add another field to use as the primary key for Person and keep code as a data field in the Person table for searches and sorts.

• 2. Re: Insert or search a related record
            valeriorrrr

Hi PhilModJunk,

the relationships are correct : )