9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2010 10:38 AM by philmodjunk

Insert Picture only if filename contains words in specific fields

basumaiku

Title

Insert Picture only if filename contains words in specific fields

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to FileMaker. Here's my current situation:

I have a folder of pictures. These are photos of people, and their names are written in caps as the picture's filename (for example, "JOHN DOE.jpg"). I'd like to import these pictures into their respective container fields within a table, but only when the filename contains the same words as those written in the "First Name" and "Last Name" fields, so I don't end up with records of people with the wrong photo. Moreover, I want to keep the "First Name" and "Last Name" fields as they are, I do NOT want to replace those fields with the filename of the picture.

Can anyone help me with this?

• 1. Re: Insert Picture only if filename contains words in specific fields
          philmodjunk

Use Import Records | Folder into a separate table. You have the option to capture the file names in a separate field during the import.

Now use the filename in the picture table to link this record to the correct record in your original table.

I'd do it this way:

Define a serial number field, PictureID, in the image table so that each picture record has a unique ID.
          Define a calculation field in your original table, cFileName as FirstName & LastName & ".jpg"
          Define a relationship linking your tables by cFileName in your original table to the Filename field in the picture table.
          Define a PictureID field in your original table and place it on a layout based on your original table.
          Show all records in your original table
          Put the cursor in PcitureID and select Replace Field Contents.
          Select the calculation option and enter this calculation: YourPictureTable::PictureID and perform the replace.