10 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2010 6:47 AM by flamecoder

Insert Picture using a script

flamecoder

Title

Insert Picture using a script

Hello everyone,
      I want to be able to insert pictures using AppleScript to automate the process. I can easily have AS insert a link to the image such as...
      set field "NameOfField" to "Path:To:Image.png"
      But I want the actual image put in the database and not just the reference to it. I need to create some kind of script in FileMaker to do the insert picture with the "Store as a reference only" box unchecked. I will then call the do script command from AS to run the filemaker script. I'm new to FileMaker and nothing seems to work that I'm trying here.What I have so far is a text field that contains the file path of the current image I want to insert and I place this in a variable.
      Set Variable [$PathToImage; Value:TableName::FieldName]
      Now I want to use what's in the variable as a file path to insert the picture.
      Insert Picture ["$PathToImage"]
      However this doesn't work... Can anyone help me out please!!!
      Thanks

• 1. Re: Insert Picture using a script
          FentonJones

Your idea is sound, to create a dedicated FileMaker script to do the actual Insert Picture, after calling it from whatever AppleScript got your file. I would control the process from a FileMaker script, not an external AppleScript, unless that is required for other reasons. There are a few rough spots (1st time around).

1. An AppleScript Mac syntax file path looks like: Macintosh HD:Users:fej:Desktop:Picture.png

A FileMaker syntax path (for an image) looks like: imagemac:/Macintosh HD/Users/fej/Desktop/Picture.png

You need to use the FileMaker syntax file path when you Insert Picture. The only way Insert Picture will accept it is if you put it into a script Variable first.