2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2011 9:21 PM by esmp

    Installing Filemaker Pro 11 Advanced after OS reinstall / Disc formatting

    esmp

      Title

      Installing Filemaker Pro 11 Advanced after OS reinstall / Disc formatting

      Post

      Hello there!

      I recently bought FMP11A and I'm having a doubt here...

      I've read that v.11.X of FM have a new local license verification system or something, which doesn't require internet connection. The thing is, what happens if I do an OS reinstall or disc formatting?

      I've searched all over the questions section of the FM site and found nothing about it, because they keep talking about earlier versions that required internet connection. Normally on those versions you would just do the "Help -> Deactivate" method in order to move the software from one computer to another and reactivate it on the new one.

      The question is, what happens on newer versions of FM where the "Deactivate" option is no longer available?

      My concern is that I actually do periodical maintenance disc formatting / OS reinstalls to my computer so that it remains stable.

      So, how does the product license work? Does it check for concurrent usage of a license number or does it keep a record of the number of installs?

      Please help me out!

      Thank you in advance,

      - Eduardo Sánchez