8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2012 4:03 PM by ivanfernandez

introduction and pictures question

ivanfernandez

Title

introduction and pictures question

Hello everyone, my name is ivan and i've been a user of filemaker for quite a while now, but only at user level, now i want to develop a DB of a card collection i have and from the beginning i thought filemaker would be the easiest solution.

i have some experience with SQL but i'm no expert...

So the question at hand is this, i want each card to have its own picture, adding it for myself is actually quite simple, but being my collection of thousands of cards it would be very tedious to do it one by one, so i've been searching for a method so filemaker can retrieve the picture from google, i found the web viewer but is not what i'm looking for.

so what i want is, when i look for a card filemaker goes to google does a search on the name of the card, selects the first one and gives back ONLY the image which is displayed on canvas to the right of the screen.

is this possible?? thank you very much for your help :)

• 1. Re: introduction and pictures question
          philmodjunk

Can you explain why the "web viewer is not what you are looking for"? It seems made to order for this purpose.

• 2. Re: introduction and pictures question
            ivanfernandez

of course, 

maybe i didn't quite explained myself when i said the web viewer is not what i'm looking for...

the web viewer gives me the result in form of a website and i need the result as a single picture...

so when i look for a picture in google i need only the first image and not the whole website...

maybe i can do it with the web viewer but i have no idea on which commands to use so i get the result i need

• 3. Re: introduction and pictures question
              philmodjunk