8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2011 4:39 PM by ZandriBanks

Inventory calculation help

ZandriBanks

Title

Inventory calculation help

I have created an inventory database to control stock of various aircraft parts. Each item has an unique id but many of the part numbers repeat throughout the inventory. I would like to calculate the quantity available for each part number separately. I am a complete novice & any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Inventory calculation help
          philmodjunk

Do you know how to use a check register?

You can use a similar approach here where parts received are your deposits and parts consumed/lost/discontinued are your withdrawals. Calculation and Summary fields can then compute a running balance on each part to show you both the quantity on hand and also how your levels change over time--which can help you fine tune re-order points.

Define at least the following fields:

Date, PartNumber, In, Out, cBal, sBalance

In and Out are the number fields where you create a new record and then record either the quantity added or removed from inventory.

cBal is a calculation field: In - Out

sBalance is a summary field that computes the total fo cBal. Set it up as a running balance, restart total when grouped by PartNumber.

Set up a layout of these fields as either a list or table view layout. cBal can be left off the layout.

As long as you keep your records sorted by PartNumber, then by Date, you'll see the inventory totals for every part in your inventory. You can perform a find for a specific partNumber and then sort your records to see the total for just that part.

• 2. Re: Inventory calculation help
            ZandriBanks