6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2011 9:56 AM by anthonym_1

Inventory check in check out (help)

anthonym_1

Title

Inventory check in check out (help)

Hello,

I"m am new to FM and im trying to create a data base for my company that would track inventory

i would like to check items in and check them out and have Fm refelct what is left in inventory

is that possable ?

Like i said im new to FM so any help would be great

Thanks

• 1. Re: Inventory check in check out (help)
          philmodjunk

Can you describe what you are doing in more detail?

A key detail here is whether you have one record for every item in inventory, (Items are identified with a serial number tag--possibly with a barcode to scan them in and out so that you know who has and is responsible for each specific item), or have one record for each type of item in inventory (You don't care who has powerdrill #1234, you just need to know that 2 power drills are checked out and 1 is remaining).

• 2. Re: Inventory check in check out (help)
            anthonym_1

i dont care who has what drill

i would just llike to show amount in stock amount that has been rented and what is left in stock so i dont over rent any thing

i was wondering also if i can modify one of the template that come with Fm inventory?

Thnnks again hope this makes sense

• 3. Re: Inventory check in check out (help)
              philmodjunk

If you were tracking individual items by serial number, you might try modifying the lending library template. I'm suprised you don't want to track who has each specific piece of equipment. While not needed to maintain inventory levels, it would help you know who last was responsible for the equipment--which might be useful if you discover hidden damage to it after it was returned.