9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2012 6:22 AM by philmodjunk

Inventory Database

JMoe

Title

Inventory Database & Sales Records Help Needed

Hello-

I'm new to FM Pro and am attempting to build myself an inventory system for my online resale business.

I've downloaded FM Pro and have read the entire FM Pro Tutorial, so I have a basic understanding of how the program works.  
      I have managed to create a basic inventroy database for myself, and it is working great so far.  I can enter items to my inventory as they are puchased with description, etc.  

Where I am stuck is that I want to be able to "mark" these items as sold in my inventory database, which would somehow activate fields where I could enter the sales information (price, date, etc) for that particular inventory item, and subsequently remove that item from my active inventory and put it in a "sales record" list of some sort.  

I'm just wondering if this is at all possible, and if so could someone help me with the steps involved in doing this?  

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks !

• 1. Re: Inventory Database & Sales Records Help Needed
          philmodjunk

It's definitely possible.

If you use your DB for invoicing your sales, filling in the data on your sales invoice can enter the data you specify here for the item sold.

You might examine the invoices starter solution or this simpler demo file (both use the same basic set of tables and relationships) for some ideas: http://fmforums.com/forum/showpost.php?post/309136/

• 2. Re: Inventory Database & Sales Records Help Needed
            JMoe

I don't use my database for doing invoicing, as most of my sales are done on eBay and they have their own built in invoicing system.

I just need to keep track of my inventory and sales records for tax purposes, and would like to do so in the manner I described above.