5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2008 6:39 AM by TSGal

Inventory Database question

JDen2775

Title

Inventory Database question

I have been asked to take over the mess of a design of an Inventory Database here at work.  Basically what is needed is records of what was ordered from who, how much, and re-order levels (conditional formatting I guess)

What would be ideal, would be to click on an "Order" button and have 7 categories pop up, then click on one of those and 100-300 items would show up on a drop-down list.  Also, another button for Vendors, that when hit would show in a list I guess, all our vendor information and contacts. 

Currently we have 7-8 tables including "bridging" tables which I am no pro, but I dont even think are necessary, and the layout is a mess.  There are no shortcuts, no buttons.  I am thinking about starting from scratch.

Any advice?  New to Filemaker, some Access experience

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Inventory Database question
          blackcat795

Cleaning up a system that has become a mess can be very daunting especially as you are new to Filemaker.

Before you make any decisions about what to do, take a step back & look at your criteria first.

For example:-

How quick do you want to achive your project?

How much of Filemaker do you actually know?

Do you know completely what you are trying to achieve- Write the whole process down).

If you are limited on time, then I would put a rebuild on hold for now & get stuck in to what you've got to get it working how you need- you will find this very rewarding when complete, in addition you are getting self paced insite to how the whole system works as well as learning Filemaker.

Undoubtably you will come across things in the system that you probably dont even know about yet.

If you decide to build form scratch then make sure you write down what your goals are for the system first, do you have list of all the necessary info, is it all really required, is it outdated?