7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2008 8:03 AM by Summerrrz

Invoice - Relationships

Justin1

Title

Invoice - Relationships

Hi,

I'm new to filemaker and ive spent too much time trying to work out how to make my invoice layout work. I've tried google and a quick search here.

So I have..

Products Table

Product Code

Product name

Price 

Description

I have set up an invoice table. Currenly i type in a Client ID and it fills in the form bellow and copies in the clients address etc. But what I want to do is have space for 10 products further down where all i need to do is enter the product code and then it fills in the product name and price. I just need to enter in the quantity.

How do i do this part of the layout? 

• 1. Re: Invoice - Relationships
          raybaudi

Hi Justin

You'll need a new table "Invoice Line Items" with at least these fields:

LineItemID
          InvoiceID
          ProcuctID
          Product name ( Lookup from Products :: Product name )
          Price ( Lookup from Products :: Price )
          Description ( Lookup from Products :: Description )

So the relationships will be:

Invoice :: InvoiceID <----> Invoice Line Items :: InvoiceID
          ( with allow creation of related record in the table: Invoice Line Items checked )

AND

Invoice Line Items :: ProductID <----> Products :: ProductID

Place a portal showing records of this new table in the layout that you use to make an invoice.

• 2. Re: Invoice - Relationships
            Justin1
               That all sounds like what i need to do. I cant get the portal working.
            • 3. Re: Invoice - Relationships
              Nadula
                 Can you explain how it's not working?
              • 4. Re: Invoice - Relationships
                TSGal

Justin:

I assumed you would have responded by now.  Is it still not working?

First, go into "Manage -> Database" (File menu), and make sure your relationships are set up properly between the three tables.