1 2 3 Previous Next 41 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2010 8:55 AM by philmodjunk

Invoice Template problem

ColinFielder

Title

Invoice Template problem

Hi, I am totally new to Filemaker as of a week ago so please excuse my ignorance. I Am setting up a database for a friend's company that still takes down new orders on scraps of paper!!

Anyway the Invoice template looks to have enough functionality for what we need + a few changes I have already made. Now despite my trying, I cannot fathom this out.-- When creating a new invoice, clicking into either  of the Ship To or Bill To object boxes, the customer name list is displayed via the pop up menu. I just want to search this list as I can see once it runs into the hundreds it would take some time to find the choosen customer. The list is populated via a value list specifying CustomerID & Full Name from the Customers table. Once the customer is selected from the list all the address details are automatically loaded.

Currently the only way I can see to search the list is to scroll up/down with the arrow keys.

Tried conditional formatting in the object box using date but that doesn't work.

Ideally I would like the current customer only inputted into the Invoice form without the need for the list, perhaps by a script box on the Customer Record layout.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, thankyou.

• 1. Re: Invoice Template problem
          Jozef

Hi Colin Fielder,

check "Auto-complete using value list" - this option will reduce the list by typing the first letters..

• 2. Re: Invoice Template problem
            ColinFielder

Hi Josef,

And thanks for the reply

Because the control style is pop up menu, auto complete using value list is not an option & only becomes ones when the control style is changed to drop-down list, but even then it is greyed out.