5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2010 4:41 PM by philmodjunk

Is there a get header height calculation/work around?

zinny

Title

Is there a get header height calculation/work around?

Hi, I am a newbie using small personal projects to learn filemaker before embarking on some more important ones.

I am calculation the size of windows using list layouts. I am adding the [height of the header and footer] + 30 or 80 pix for the status bar header depending whether it is on or off + the number of records times the [height of the body]of the layout.

Is there anyway I can get(headerheight), get(bodyheight) and get (footerheight)?

I am hoping it is somewhere secret that I can't find or there is a work around. I don't want to rewrite the calculation for each layout/everytime I change it.

Any thoughts would be appreciated

• 2. Re: Is there a get header height calculation/work around?
          zinny

Thanks, I tried that but it gives you the content height as it is, not as you want it to be - ie. if you increase the size of the window by dragging on the corner it gives you a different result. It doesn't help me find how big the window should be, just how big it is.

I appreciate the thought though, thanks

• 3. Re: Is there a get header height calculation/work around?
            philmodjunk

In some situations, I set the window height and width in variables. Which are then referenced by the New Window script step to compute height, width and also a top and left that centers the window on the screen. If I then modify the layout, I just edit the Set Variable script step that assigns the window height and/or width.