5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2009 4:07 PM by Sorbsbuster

is there a way to maintain a sort order when exporting information displayed in a portal?

kwseattle

Title

is there a way to maintain a sort order when exporting information displayed in a portal?

I'm new to using the relational part of FileMaker, so this may be a basic question.

I have information displayed in a portal, and it's nicely sorted.  When I export that info, it comes out in a different order than what's displayed.  Is there a way to maintain the sort on export?  

This issue caused real problems when I was exporting information in the portal from two different related tables because the information from the two tables was sorted differently, and they didn't "match up" (see simple example below).  The first two fields came from one table; the second two came from another, but they were related through an ID.  

Displayed results:

Person_1_name    Person_1_ID    Person_1_ID   Person_1_grade

Person_2_name    Person_2_ID    Person_2_ID   Person_2_grade

Person_3_name    Person_3_ID    Person_3_ID   Person_3_grade

Person_4_name    Person_4_ID    Person_4_ID   Person_4_grade

Export results: 

Person_4_name    Person_4_ID    Person_1_ID   Person_1_grade

Person_1_name    Person_1_ID    Person_3_ID   Person_3_grade

Person_3_name    Person_3_ID    Person_2_ID   Person_2_grade

Person_2_name    Person_2_ID    Person_4_ID   Person_4_grade

---Karen 

• 1. Re: is there a way to maintain a sort order when exporting information displayed in a portal?
          Orlando

Hi Karen

Can I check where you are sorting the portal? I think the issue is that you are sorting the Portal, on the layout, and not the Relationship, via the relationship diagram.

Having just done a few tests I have noticed if you Save as Excel it will keep the sort of a portal on the layout, but if you File > Export... it will only refer to the sort order of the Relationship in the Relationship Graph.