7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2014 7:32 PM by BookMan

ISBN search using Camera

BookMan

Title

ISBN search using Camera

I am very new to file maker, but I am finding it very useful, and user friendly. I am in the book trade and I am using it to keep track of the books I have on hand. I have created a layout that will show me all the information I need to know about my inventory.

When I am purchasing I use an ipad or iphone and need to quickly search by Author or ISBN (barcoded). I would to know how to write a script that will allow me to search the ISBN by scanning the barcode with the camera in the iOS device. If it returns no results then I would like to search by Author. If it returns no results then I would like to add the ISBN to a new table. If anyone can help with this I would really appreciate it!

• 1. Re: ISBN search using Camera
          philmodjunk

This is not the full answer but it should get you started:

Define a global text field, gBarcode and put it on a field somewhere. Run this script to search your table for records with that barcode:

Go to Layout ["BarcodeLayout" ( globalsTable ) ] ---> go to the layout where you have placed gBarcode.
               Insert From Device [---> select the options needed for bar code scans and specify gBarcode as the field into which to insert the scanned text.
               Commit Records
               Go to Layout [Select layout that you plan to use to show your find results here]
               Enter Find Mode [] ---> clear pause check box
               Set Field [YourTable::barcode ; Globals::gBarcode ]
               Set Error Capture [on]
               Perform Find []
               If [ Not Get ( FoundCount ) // no records found ]
                 Do what you want when no item with this bar code is found
               End If

Note: there's a bug that has been identified in Insert From Device when using the camera to take pictures and to scan bar codes at the same time: