4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2015 11:22 AM by Mark_M

IWP: Use of Globals

Mark_M

Title

IWP: Use of Globals

Platform: Pro Advanced 12.0v4

Question: I’m trying to understand the use of Global Fields in IWP.

Background:

I’ve been using FM for about 10 years to manage an employment document process that is performed annually.   The application has gone through 2 major revisions and 1 total re-write.  The system not only prints employment documents but is used to manage and track conditions for individual employees (EE).  There are 19 different employment documents consisting of 12 very legal contracts and 7 “letters of employment”.  Teachers and administrators get “contracts” and the rest of us get “letters”.  One major difference is that contracts must be signed and return (and we track the return of the documents in FM) and letters are distributed as – ah – information only, they need not be returned.  The current EE count is about 3,000 people and once changes are locked down it take me about 2.5 days to print the 18,000 documents that go out.  (I did a test today and it would normally take about 45 minutes to print the documents for a High School, generating the PDF’s and stuffing them in a container field took less than 3-minutes.)

Current Project:

My boss, for a number years, has wanted to move forward with paperless employment documents and due to other none related factors I was going to have to do another major overhaul of the process.  So I’m talking this opportunity to start from the ground up and create a new system using FM 12 that will be server hosted and use IWP for delivery of the documents.  For about a month now I’ve been working on system analysis and prototyping functionality to ensure I can deliver what I’ve promised since I’ve never done any IWP work in the past.  Overall things have gone pretty well.

Future Model: