10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2010 12:41 PM by philmodjunk

Job Record, that contains People linked from a contact database

ChrisCrawford

Title

Job Record, that contains People linked from a contact database

Hi All

Wonder if someone could kindly point me in the right direction

I have a very simple database of customers. I have created a new database, each record will be a 'Photography shoot'.

What I want to do is then add people to my record as people. Im sure It's to do with portals, I have a small understanding of how relationships work, but I just cant get my head around this one,

Simply, I am a wedding photographer, I want to create a new record for the wedding that will hold ceremony and reception address, the package, contract sent etc etc, but I have a FM database of my client so I just want to add the "bride" * 'groom' in from my already created database!

Thanks 

CHRIS

• 1. Re: Job Record, that contains People linked from a contact database
          philmodjunk

Two approaches:

1) Assume that you're only going to photograph a given bride or groom in a single wedding--dangerous assumption as people do remarry, but simplifies your structure...

Define an auto-entered serial number in your PhotographyShoot table; call it PhotoID.

Define a matching PhotoID field in your customers table and link the two tables by PhotoID.

Customers::PhotoID = PhotoShoot::PhotoID

You can format it with a value list of PhotoID's from your Photography table. You can specify a name field from PhotoShoot as a second column in this value list to make it easier to select the correct photoID.

Now a portal to customers on your photo shoot layout will list all customers that you've linked to that photo shoot.

2) assume the same customer could be part of more than one photo shoot. This is now a many to many relationship and you'll need a join table to link the two tables you've described:

Customers---<Customer_Photo>---PhotoShoot    (one ---< Many )