1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2009 11:51 AM by shelleym25

join tables

shelleym25

Title

join tables

Hi - I have two tables with a many to many relationship which I have resolved with a join table.  Now I am wondering how to get around manually inputting the IDs from each of these tables into the join table to establish the relationship.  Is it possible to automate this?  Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks 

• 1. Re: join tables
          Jens Teich
             The default way to do this is (if both data tables don't have to many rows to be displayed in a value list):

* Create value lists of all members of both data tables with two columns each: ID + name

* Create a portal in both tables showing the join table

* Set both relationhips to allow creation of new join table records

* Fill the missing ID of the other table with the value list of this table

Jens

• 2. Re: join tables
            planner_1

I'm New to FMP 9 and databases (in general).  I believe I get the concept of creating a join table when you want to create a many to may relationship.  But ,I'm still missing something (not sure what).

I have created the following:

• Process (table)
            • Locations (table)
            Now many processes can occur in/at many locations and many locations can support many processes.

So, I created a "dependency" (table) in an attempt to join the two.

The Dependency table includes:
            • DependencyID
            • ProcessID
            • LocationID

Now, when I'm on the Process input forum, I'd like to be able to build a Process profile that shows the Process and all of it's related locations (the locations table has the following fields: LocationID, LocationName, Address, City, State, Zip, County, Country.

Did I set-up the relationship properly?  What table would show me the join between Process and all of it's locations?  

• 3. Re: join tables
              Jens Teich