1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2010 1:11 PM by theOtter

Known Issues with Send Mail via SMTP

JohnKelly

Title

Known Issues with Send Mail via SMTP

I'm using Filemaker Pro Advanced and sending email to a group of people from a data table.   The various email addresses are just fields from the table.   I check the LastError after the Send Mail statement and am finding an error on about 75% of attempts.   The send mail statement is in a loop so that if an error occurs it retries 5 times before moving on the the next person.  Nevertheless there are still more than 50% failures.   If I change the Send Mail statement to use my email client it works perfectly, every time without fail.    The SMTP setup details are correct, and it does work sometimes.   Any ideas or known issues would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Known Issues with Send Mail via SMTP
          mwtse

I'm new to FM and are using FMP 10 Advanced. I test the email function with a table with three rows, only the first email was send if I use SMTP, but if I use the default email client (in my case apple Mail) all three emails was send successfully. It seems that the problems are the same as you.

• 2. Re: Known Issues with Send Mail via SMTP
            PaulBruneau

Hi, John-

There is definitely a big problem and yet there is almost no useful information here about it.

I too have several hundred records for which I would like to send out emails.

I have found like others that there are nasty UTF-8 issues with the Name and Subject fields, although that does not seem to be what is causing me (like you) to get this error.

I have found that if it fails for one message to a given domain, if I have several more records to that same domain, they will all fail, one after the other. This leads me to believe that the issue is not with the message content, since for each of my outgoing messages, the message content is different.