2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 9:24 AM by davidanders

Layout Help

Arcanum

Title

Layout Help

Hi There,

I am very new to this program, and databases in general.

I am wanting to created a database that will help track and manage data for music festival management.

I currently hold all the information that i use and collect in spreadsheets, and want to migrate it all to a database.

As i hope it will cut down the amount for information to be entered and better streamline the process.

I have read though the missing manual for Filemaker 10 and have grasped some basics, and i am using filemaker 10 on OSX.

I have created the following tables

Event - 

This table will hold all the information for the event, Event Name, Location, Times, Contact Names of Key Management Positions, etc

Order-

This is the main working table that will pull all the information from all the other tables to make the event.

This  will collect; Item, Qty, Location, Dept, Comment, Del, Col.

Items -

This is a list of items that can be used on the event site, such as Toilets, Site Sheds, Fence, Barriers, ect. There can be multiple of each, such as Toilets as these can be broken down in to different types, Portaloo, Male Block, Female block, Combo Block, 16 Pan, etc.

Also in this table it will reference the supplier that can supply the product and the cost associated .

Dept - 

This is just a list of departments that each item can be charged back to.

At the end of each event we need to be able to produce a report of the charge backs for accounting purposes.

And need to be able to easily modify the list as it can change for event to event.

Suppliers -

All the details of the supplies that we are dealing with, and the preferred contact.

Labour - 

All the details of the workers on site.

MY ISSUE

What I can not get my head around currently is layouts. I know what I want it to do but not how to go about it.