4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2015 10:19 AM by hanstrager

Layout script trigger

hanstrager

Title

Layout script trigger

I have a small database to hold receipts for different project.

I now need a way to easily keep these project separate, and to see if I've re-nvoiced the different companies for what i've spend on their behalf.

I have a 'master' layout where I type in all the information relating to a receipt. Then I thought I'll make another layout for all different companies. I then enter the the 'companyX' layout in list mode which should only show the records relating to companyX. I've tried different things but nothing seems to work.

I've tried to add a script-trigger to the layout with the following script:

Freeze Window

Show All Records

Enter Find Mode [ Specified Find Requests: Find Records; Criteria: Transactions::CLIENT: “ALEX EAGLE” ] [ Restore ]

Perform Find [ Specified Find Requests: Find Records; Criteria: Transactions::CLIENT: “ALEX EAGLE” ] [ Restore ]

Sort Records [ Keep records in sorted order; Specified Sort Order: Transactions::Invoiced; ascending Transactions::DATE; ascending ] [ Restore; No dialog ]

It performs the search, but doesn't stop, and first stops when i press 'esc'. What do I do wrong?

• 1. Re: Layout script trigger
          philmodjunk

Did you use the on Record Load Trigger instead of OnLayoutEnter.

This script will trip any OnRecordLoad trigger so if OnRecordLoad is used to perform the above script, you will get an infinite loop.

I would think that you need to use OnLayoutEnter and you can remove some redundant/unnecessary steps here to perform this:

Perform Find[ Specified Find Requests:Find Records; Criteria: Transactions::CLIENT: “ALEX EAGLE”] [Restore]
          Sort Records[Keep records in sorted order; Specified Sort Order:Transactions::Invoiced;ascendingTransactions::DATE;ascending] [Restore; No dialog]