6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2010 12:52 PM by johnhorner

layout specific actions for custom menus

johnhorner

Title

layout specific actions for custom menus

i am hoping that there is a way to assign a script to the "new record" command that will run a different script depending on what layout the command is launched from (i.e in "contacts" i would like to run my "new contact" script, and for "invoices" i would like to run my "new invoice" script).  however, i could only see a way to attach a single script to a custom menu.  am i missing something or is this not possible?  do i need to make multiple custom menus or menu sets that somehow are linked to the layouts?

i am completely new to working with custom menus so please pardon my ignorance.

• 1. Re: layout specific actions for custom menus
          philmodjunk

Set your script up with If steps that branch to different actions based on which layout is current.

If [ get ( LayoutName ) = "Data Entry" ]

#do the data entry version of new record here

Else If [get ( LayoutName ) = "Report" ]

#Do the Report version of new record here

and so on for each layout.

Be aware that if you use this get function, renaming your layout also require updating your script.

You can also use Get ( LayoutNumber ) to identify the current layout.

• 2. Re: layout specific actions for custom menus
            johnhorner

thanks phil!

if i were to use get(layoutnumber) instead of get(layoutname), does that layout number stay with the layout for life like a serial number, or does it change depending on it's order in the "manage layouts list", for example, or some other dynamic attribute?

also, i noticed that there was a way in the layout setup to choose a cusotm menu set.  are there easily defineable situations when you would use a different menu set applied to a layout vs. the method you outlined where the script would handle the selection of the appropriate action depending on the context?