11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2011 4:44 PM by rjlevesque

Layouts

arthursc

Title

Layouts

Hello,

I'm new to FMPro, but am getting more knowledgable as each day passes.

I wish to create a "Master Dashboard" for the database I am designing. This dashboard  is the 1st screen the users will see when they load the database.

I want it to look simular to the pre-designed tabbed view like the starter solution "email Campaign" or with a set of menu buttons at the top of the design very much like the button design of a web page. Like the menu you see hosting my site

www.swdm.co.uk.

If I can get it to look as close the the above url then I'll be happy as larry. image attached.

any advice just to get the initial design layout done would be great.

I am following the FMPro Adv essentials training on lynda.com which has been great.

i'm a newbie, so please be gentle.

regards

arthursc

swdm.JPG

• 1. Re: Layouts
          rjlevesque

You should be able to use the TAB control to make the tabbed view for your dashboard easily. Simply select the tab creation tool from the tool pallete and then draw a square over the area where you want the tabbed pane. This will then give you a window to create and name each tab, decide the width of the tabs, and color of the pane. You can even decide which tab the window opens to automatically.

I have a little trick I use to add a dashboard type menu to solutions when I have limited space to work with if you would like to see a sample I would be ahppy to share it with you.

• 2. Re: Layouts
            arthursc

Hi rjlevesque,

That would be great if you have an example.

Regards

Arthursc

• 3. Re: Layouts
              rjlevesque

Ok here is a sample of the flip menu I use to create a neat little dashboard effect.

http://www.datadesignonline.com/FMP_Samples/dashboard_samples.fp7