8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2011 8:36 AM by philmodjunk

Layouts and Fields - Simple Q

VestedInvestor

Title

Layouts and Fields - Simple Q

I'm a newbie to FM.  Quick question.

I designed two databases.  One A, second B, each with different fields.

I designed a layout for database B, but, when I open database A, it seems to only want to view the fields of database B (the one the layout was created for.) I know I need to create a new layout for database B, but, I would thinks database B's fields would be available for such layout.

What am I not understanding about layouts?  Thanks. 

• 1. Re: Layouts and Fields - Simple Q
          LaRetta_1

Layouts are based upon a table occurrence.  So if you create a layout for table A and place fields from table A on it, that is what you will see.  Notice that the records indicator shows the number of records also from table A.

If you want to view the records for table B, create a layout based upon table B and place table B fields upon it.

If you relate the two tables then you can 'cross view' fields, i.e. place table A fields on table B layout and view the information.

I cannot explain any more without specific example.  If you wish to provide further information, please use real table names and not A and B.  To provide logical answers, we need to understand what the underlying tables represent.  So say "I have a Customers table and an Invoices table", for instance. 

BTW, if you select a layout and then (in layout mode), select Layouts > Layout Setup, you will notice in the center of the opening dialog, 'Show Records from' and a pop-up list.  Layouts are always tied to a specific table occurrence and that will become your perspective when viewing all other data (whether from that table occurrence or a related table).

• 2. Re: Layouts and Fields - Simple Q
            VestedInvestor