2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2014 10:01 AM by c.wagner1

Learning ExecuteSQL in FMP12, a few questions

RamakrishnanRajaramSrinivasan

Title

Learning ExecuteSQL in FMP12, a few questions

Hello all,

I have joined a new job where I am required to use FileMaker (and gradually transition systems to other databases). I have been a DB Admin of a MS SQL Server database for ~2 years, and I am very well versed in PL/SQL and T-SQL. I am trying to pan my SQL knowledge to FMP using the ExecuteSQL functionaloty, and I'm kinda running into a lot of small pains :)

I have 2 tables: Movies and Genres. The relevant columns are:

Movies(MovieId, MovieName, GenreId, Rating)

Genres(GenreId, GenreName)

I'm trying to find the movie with the highest rating in each genre. The SQL query for this would be:

SELECT M.MovieName

FROM Movies M INNER JOIN Genres G ON M.GenreId=G.GenreId

WHERE M.Rating=

(

SELECT MAX(Rating) FROM Movies WHERE GenreId = M.GenreId

) 

I translated this as best as I could to an ExecuteSQL query:

ExecuteSQL ("

SELECT M::MovieName FROM Movies M INNER JOIN Genres G ON M::GenreId=G::GenreId

WHERE M::Rating =

(SELECT MAX(M2::Rating) FROM Movies M2 WHERE M2::GenreId = M::GenreId)

"; "" ; "")

I set the field type to Text and also ensured values are not stored. But all I see are '?' marks. 

What am I doing incorrectly here? I'm sorry if it's something really stupid, but I'm new to FMP and any suggestions would be appreciated. 

Thank you!

--
           Ram

• 1. Re: Learning ExecuteSQL in FMP12, a few questions
          philmodjunk

Compared to how you use SQL in other DBMS, what you can do with ExecuteSQL will be very limited.

A ? is the Exedrine Headache #1 result that you get with a syntax error.

The obvious one that I can spot is that the qualified reference of Table::FieldName you used is correct syntax for a FileMaker calculation, but not a SQL query. It would be Table.Fieldname instead of Table::fieldName