8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2011 5:10 PM by philmodjunk

Link Graphic to another layout

kurtnivy

Title

Link Graphic to another layout

Well I can get the link to go to the layout.  The layout I am going to has a web viewer in it and I would like when clicking a graphic the layout opens(which it does) and then the web site for that graphic to load in the web viewer. I am new to this so please try to not assume I know the lingo.

• 1. Re: Link Graphic to another layout
          philmodjunk

Do you know the URL that goes with the graphic? (The text you'd enter in the top of a web browser if you were to use it to view the site.)

Do you have this URL entered into a field?

• 2. Re: Link Graphic to another layout
            kurtnivy

Yes I do. I actually have other fields also that have different url's. I know all the addresses.

Example:

layout 1 has these text labels and a graphic. I want each one to open a web page in layout 2(web site)

Bill 1

Bill 2

bill 3

(Graphic)

the links go to the web sites that I have bills for.   In order for me to get my amount due entered into the amount due field on my layout 1.. I would love it if this could automatically be filled in with the amount due, but I have my doubts I can get that synced up with the billers database. Correct me if I am wrong.  So I need to make an extra step and go to the web site that I have a bill due at and login and then check that amount, and then enter it into layout 1 field called amount due.  Doing all this inside filemaker without jumping to a browser.

• 3. Re: Link Graphic to another layout
              philmodjunk

I can get you to the website, but querying the website and extracting data from it, while not impossible, requires the website being willing to expose the necessary API so that a Web Viewer in FileMaker could access the data via the appropriate URL expression. That's not a likely scenario for a bill paying site.