10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2009 10:32 AM by philmodjunk

Linking Fields between Records

Magswell08

Title

Linking Fields between Records

Hey Guys.

I'm rather new to FileMaker Pro 10, and am running it on my Mac.

I'm designing a database to keep track of the merchandise for the band that I work for. I've done fine getting the layouts designed, and figuring out most of the calculation formulas I need to use. I'm getting stuck when it comes to my inventory tracking though. Right now, each record is a new date. Each record contains the different styles of shirts, sizes, and prices for all our merchandise. It also tells me the starting inventory for each piece, and the ending inventory. But I need a new record, let's say tomorrow's date, to pull the inventory number from the last record. So basically, when I create a new record and specify the shirt, I need it to look up the last date's ending inventory for that shirt. 

Any help would be great! I haven't gotten into any scripts or any of the more intense formulas, so please make sure the answers are "newbie friendly."

Thanks! =)

• 1. Re: Linking Fields between Records
          philmodjunk

There are several ways to set this up. One method is described in the following thread:

http://forum-en.filemaker.com/fm/board/message?board.id=FM-en-4&message.id=21633&query.id=70360#M21633

See if it helps give you some ideas.

• 2. Re: Linking Fields between Records
            SaterInc