7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2014 4:42 AM by CharlotteLasek

List related records AND # matches in found set

CharlotteLasek

Title

List related records AND # matches in found set

Hi everyone,

I’m a graphic designer who got sucked into FMP (which I am finding challenging and fun). This is my first time posting, but I've been using this forum a lot over the last month or so as I learn how to do… well… everything. I’ve been officially tasked with developing a brand new DB of survey responses, from which we’ll need to create reports and summaries based on various criteria. I have no control over how the raw data is given to us from the survey company. I think I’ve got a good start as far as the input, basic setup and relationships go, but I’m having trouble summarizing and reporting when it involves more than a simple Find.

Here’s an example of my setup. There are about six more questions/answers like this:

Main Table: t_SurveyInput
           Fields: Relationship_input, ID_Relationship (match field)

This is the table that imports all the raw data from the surveys. ID_Relationship is a calculation field that is assigned a code based on the survey answer. For example, if Relationship_input “Parent attending with child” ; ID_Relationship “R1” 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Table2: t_Relationships
           Fields: ID_Relationship (match field), Relationship_Display

There are 7 possible answers to the relationship question, so each is a record on this table with codes that match the previous calculation:

ID_Relationship | Relationship_Display
           1) R1 | Parent
           2) R2 | Grandparent
           3) R3 | Relative
           etc…

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------