11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2010 2:01 PM by philmodjunk

Listing additional locations in an inventory

anitaGillis

Title

Listing additional locations in an inventory

Hello all,

I am a beginner to Filemaker Pro and need help. I have an inventory database. It tracks the contents of 17 racks, each rack has 11 boxes, each box has multiple samples. I am trying to create a calculated field that will tell me where the same item is stored in all racks, boxes.

Example. Item A is stored in Rack 1 Box 1, Rack 3 Box 2 and Rack 4 Box 4. When I pull up the record for Item A in Rack 1 Box 1, I want this new field to tell me that Item A is also in Rack 3 Box 2 and Rack 4 Box 4. Is this possible for Filemaker? Please help if you can.

Regards

• 1. Re: Listing additional locations in an inventory
          philmodjunk

First a key question about your design.

How are you currently recording the multiple locations where a given item is store?

Ideally, you should have two tables. Table 1 lists each item in inventory. Table 2 should be a related item where a new record is created for each location where a given item is stored.

That option enables you to display the existing locations in a portal or you can set up a calculation field with the List and substitute functions to get your horizontal list of existing locations.

• 2. Re: Listing additional locations in an inventory
            anitaGillis

Hi PhilModJunk,

Thanks for replying. I have Table 1, it currently has 1000 records for all the items in the inventory.  If there are multiple locations for an item, they have a seperate record, for example:

Item A: Rack 1 Box 1, is record 1

Item A: Rack 3 Box , is record 2

Item A: Rack 4 Box 4, is record 3