6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2014 9:16 AM by philmodjunk

Location Value or GPS data

JeremyHurd

Title

Location Value or GPS data

Hello,

I'm very new to FM, currently I have FM pro version 13.0.3.  I have a data base that I have created and I would like to be able to add a button that would put the take the current GPS location value (LAT/LONG) and populate it in a field.  I have read and understand that LocationValue is an added feature, but I have no idea on how to make it work the way I want it to.  

Once again I'm very new to FM and any type of scripting for that matter, kind of learning as I go.  Any help is appreciated!

• 1. Re: Location Value or GPS data
          philmodjunk

This is a feature that can only be used with FileMaker GO on an iOS device such as an iPad or iPhone. Is this how you need to use this feature?

It doesn't work in FileMaker Pro on a computer or windows tablet.

• 2. Re: Location Value or GPS data
            SteveMartino

Do you already have the long and lat, or are you trying to populate from an address?

If you are trying to populate from an address, you can look at this DevCon session:

https://fmdev.filemaker.com/docs/DOC-3321#comment-2632

Download and unzip the sample files.  In the file marked "GeoLocation Multiple Points", there is a Script that uses a custom function that will take the current address and turn it into Long & Lat.  You can attach this to a button on your PC.  You can also use the other script to geocode all the addresses at once, but it didn't seem to do all the addresses, and I had to go thru the records that didn't geocode and use the first custom function.

• 3. Re: Location Value or GPS data
              JeremyHurd

@PhilModJunk