10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2011 10:46 AM by philmodjunk

Logical Script Help?

DanaSadowski7326

Title

Logical Script Help?

I'm a filemaker novice and have to set up a database to track orders.  Some of our mfgs have quantity pricing.  When entering an order, i need the cost of the item to be based on the quantity ordered.  Is this done with a script?  In the products table, i have different fields for the quantity breaks, such as 1 piece, 6+, etc.  So if I enter a quantity of 6 or more pieces, how do I get it to pull the 6+ price?

• 1. Re: Logical Script Help?
          philmodjunk

You can define matching fields for each possible unit price with looked up value settings to copy them into the record from your products table.

Then your calculation field can use a case function to compute the price:

Case ( Qty < 6 ; Qty * UnitPriceLT6 ;
                    Qty < 12 ; Qty * UnitPriceLT12 ;
                    Qty * UnitPriceGE12 )

Case will branch on the first true statement, BTW. UnitPriceLT6, UnitPriceLT12, UnitPriceGE12 would be fields that look up your qty based unit prices from corresponding fields in the products table.

• 2. Re: Logical Script Help?
            DanaSadowski7326

So what I should do is create fields in the products table for every instance of a quantity price, including 1 piece, then have all of the "cases" listed between the parantheses?  Also, do I assume I would put them in numerical order, lowest quantity being listed first?  Then my "price per unit" field in my lineitem table would be the above case calculation? 

Also, I still haven't been able to figure out the conditional value list to get only the mfg products to show in the pop up menu for product id based on the mfg that is selected in the order.  I'm sure I just don't have the relationship set up correctly.