6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2010 12:30 PM by fmnewb

Look up related field using Get (Account Name)?

fmnewb

Title

Look up related field using Get (Account Name)?

Hello,

I'm just getting into FileMaker so not quite used to the scripting environment...

I have a layout called "Projects". Each project record can be assigned to a person - this is represented by a field called "assigneeId". Assignee Id references another table called "Assignee".

"Assignee" table has the relevant fields:

assigneeId

accountName

So on my layout, after the project record is committed, I would like FileMaker to look up the assigneeId based on the current user (I believe "Get (Account Name)" achieves this), and to automatically update  Project::assigneeId, silently behind the scenes.

I know SQL much much better - so maybe an example will help clarify what I'm trying to do - consider trying to update project #1

--------------------------------

UPDATE Project

SET assigneeId = (SELECT assigneeId FROM Assignee WHERE accountName = "whateverCurrentAccountName")

WHERE projectId = 1

--------------------------------

Thanks in advance!

Also, is there an awesome scripting book that anyone recommends....?

• 1. Re: Look up related field using Get (Account Name)?
          philmodjunk

Freeze Window
          Go To Layout [Assignee]//any layout that refers to this table
          Enter Find Mode []
          Set Field [Assignee::accountName ; Get ( AccountName ) ]
          Set Error Capture [on]
          Perform Find []
          If [ Get ( FoundCount ) > 0 ]   // just Get ( FoundCount ) will also work here
             Set Variable [$AssigneeID ; Value:  Assignee::AssigneeID]
             Go To Layout [Original Layout]
             Set Field [Projects::AssigneeID ; $AssigneeID ]
          Else
             Show Custom Dialog ["No records found for " & Get (AccountName)]
             Go To Layout [Original Layout ]
          End If