4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2011 7:09 PM by MarlenMadsen

Lookup drop down or popup new window layout list

MarlenMadsen

Title

Lookup drop down or popup new window layout list

Hello,

I'm new to FM but not to relational Database former experiance has been Clarion. 

I'm Creating a DB simular to the included invoice app but would like to know if it is practical to use a Product name (text field) as my primary Key ID rather than product_ID, as it won't be at all practical to try to remember ID's with a product table of 3000 records, better yet would like to open an other window list to select the product to link with the invoice item line portal. 

My question is can you create a file relation using text fields rather than num fields and work? I find it odd that I can't limit the size of the text fields to better define the link.

Has any body have an example app of performing a look up using a second window and how I can trigger it from the portal line and then select item, close lookup window, and add record with related data to the portal.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Lookup drop down or popup new window layout list
          RickWhitelaw

I'd strongly advise you to use an auto-entered serial value as your PK. You should never have to remember, or interact in any way, with The PK. It should be invisible to the user (including the developer) if the design is correct. If the user must select a PK value, using value lists with a second field also shown and "Show only second field" should be used.

RW

• 2. Re: Lookup drop down or popup new window layout list
            MarlenMadsen

Yes I agree as I do hide PK from user but my question remains as in the invoice example when entering product items to the invoice the drop down list comes from the value list using the ID's to establish the link and to inport the product information in the item line portal of the invoice.