6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2009 6:56 AM by theFox

Lookup from same table

theFox

Title

Lookup from same table

Hi

I am new to FileMaker Pro, and have a basic understanding of a relational database.  I work on the MAC and PC version.  I am busy creating a Personnel dB.  In my Personnel table I have:

ID

First Name

Last Name

Manager

I want Manager to be a drop down of names from the Personnel table.  Users should be able to select the manager for a new Personnel record from existing personnel records.  I want to show the First Name and Last Name in the drop down somehow. Should I create a separate table called Manager and link these tables?  What is the most elegant way to do this?

Thx 

• 1. Re: Lookup from same table
          david_lalonde@d-cogit.ca

Hello theFox,

The most elegant way depends greatly on the solution itself. Here is a good basic method:

1. Create a field that contains the personnel category. It should contain a value list of categories (example: employee; manager; CEO, etc.).

2. Create a calculation field that stores the first and last names only if their category is manager.

3. Create a value list that is based on the first and last name field created in step 2.

4. Attach this value list to the Manager field you mentioned in your original post.

That's it! 

• 2. Re: Lookup from same table
            philmodjunk

I'm assuming Manager stores a number.

Create a self join relationship.

In Manage Database | Relationship, Drag from Personnel::ID outside the box and then back in to Personnel::Manager. Name the new table occurrence ManagerTO. You can use this relationship to show the manager's name and any other data on a regular person's layout.