4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2014 4:21 PM by FranziskaBlome

Macs and PCs sharing a db file via network sharing - tricky?

FranziskaBlome

Title

Macs and PCs sharing a db file via network sharing - tricky?

Hi there,

I'm supposed to set up file sharing (just via the network for now, I assume it's relatively simple to upgrade to server later if necessary). So far I have only worked in offices where all users used Macs, this time there's a mix of PC and Mac users. Should I anticipate issues? I am NOT very good at IT and networking stuff at all, so please try to use novice language if you have any tips.

Thanks!!

• 1. Re: Macs and PCs sharing a db file via network sharing - tricky?
          philmodjunk

If you know how to correctly use FileMaker to host the database for other users, there should be no major issues in getting this to work. But if by "Filesharing" you want to put a copy of your database into a shared directory and have different users open it directly, you risk damaging the file--and this is the case whether you have just Macs, just PCs or a mix of the two.

There are some differences in behavior between the two platforms but how you host the file and access the hosted database is the same on both systems. You open the file on the server using FileMaker Pro or FileMaker server and then all clients use Open Remote to find and open the database file thus hosted.

PC to mac differences: The same block of text takes a few more pixels of space on a PC than a Mac. Thus, you'll need to examine and adjust your layouts if you spot places where text is "clipped" or "wraps" in unexpected ways.

Printing from a mac provides a Percent scaling option not available on PCs.

On PC's you get a rather awful "FileMaker window inside an application window" look not found in Macs. Window thus can behave a bit differently--especially if your solution opens and closes a number of different windows when the user interacts with your database.