4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2013 10:36 AM by NancyNewburger

Maintain Sort Order between different layouts

NancyNewburger

Title

Maintain Sort Order between different layouts

Hello,

This is regarding FileMaker Pro 12.

I am new to FileMaker, switched over from Access. My level of expertise with databases is novice, so anyone who kindly provides an answer to the following, please give step by step simple instructions.

I have two layouts that I utilize in table view.  Layout #1 sorted in ID (# field)  ascending order.  Layout #2 sorted by Last Name (text field).  

After creating the sort in Layout #1, I then created the sort in Layout #2.  When I returned to Layout #1 the ID field sort was gone and it was sorted exactly as Layout #2.  

I am not running any scripts, that I know of.  Is there something going on behind the scenes that could be causing this? And how would I check for that.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

• 1. Re: Maintain Sort Order between different layouts
          DavidJondreau

Filemaker keeps the sort order (and found set) when switching between layouts based on the same Table Occurence and within the same window. If the sort order for each layout is static (you always want Layout #1 and #2 to sort a certain way), then you can use an onLayoutLoad script trigger to maintain the sort order. If it's dynamic, you could use separate windows or create an additional table occurence from the table and based the layout on that.

There are fancier (ie more complicated) ways, but they're not worth going into unless you really really need them.

• 2. Re: Maintain Sort Order between different layouts
            NancyNewburger

Thank you for your answer David, but I don't understand this problem.  I have attempted another way of solving the problem but that is not working either.