0 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2010 3:38 AM by JamesClark

Make a script that creates a new record in a specific table with data pulled from other tables

JamesClark

Title

Make a script that creates a new record in a specific table with data pulled from other tables

I'm building an equipment loaning database, I'm new to filemaker and new to database design. I've begun building a database from scratch because I found the starter solutions very difficult to edit. I've had some help with this so I think it's on solid grounds but now the person that was helping me doesn't seem to be posting anymore.

A copy of the database is here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14796249/EQDB_rev5.1/EQDB_rev5.fp7 does anyone feel like helping me? If anyone wants to check out the database and help me the only user is: Admin and the password is: passw0rd. There are only dummy records and only a few of them but I hope it helps you get the gist of what I'm trying to achieve.

I currently have a tables of users, inventory, kits and loans. Inventory is the equipment being managed by this loans database, and kits is a specific table for when people borrow a bag or kit of pieces of equipment, so borrowing several items all belonging to one kit, at once. The Users table is, well, users and loans is a table which is used for gathering data to keep a record of which users are borrowing what equipment and a log of their previous loans.

At the moment the database can be used to enter records of inventory items and records of users, there is only one filemaker user account used for this which is for the administrator, the administrator alone can create, edit and delete new users but anyone can create, edit or delete items of equipment and kits.

The part I'm working on now is making the 'check out' button in the catalogue view of the inventory layout execute a script that will:

1. Create a new record using the fields from the 'Loans' table