5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2014 10:11 AM by philmodjunk

Making a product database

DerekSchep

Title

Making a product database

Hey guys,

I made a post about this a while ago and I don't think people completely understood what I was asking. Its been really busy at work so I haven't had the time to have a look at the database yet, so I'm going to try again.

I want to make a database for my father to track products in his business. Basically its role will be to track what products he has pending sale and which ones have been sold. I want him to be able to, when a product has been sold, press a button which then changes the product and adds a SOLD tag and prompt him to add how much the product was sold for and who by and who to.

I'm very new to FileMaker so if you know of any guides/videos to teach me how to do this.

Thanks in advance,

Derek Schep

• 1. Re: Making a product database
          philmodjunk

Is it correct that your father is selling one of a kind items? He's selling cars, real estate or other such items and not 1 out of 1,000 identical claw hammers at a hardware store, for example?

This would seem to need a simple table displayed on a list view layout. A button placed in the body of such a layout could perform a script that changes a field from it's current value to "Sold" and can use show custom dialog to present the user with a reminder that they need to enter the sale amount--another field on the layout.

• 2. Re: Making a product database
            DerekSchep

PhilModJunk,

Yes, the products are one of a kind. I ahve the table built, I just need to implement this script. Is there anywhere you know where I can learn to write a script to do this? I don't have the experience necessary to write this.

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Making a product database
              philmodjunk