5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2011 2:45 PM by KenKing

Making a smaller Google Map

new2FM

Title

Making a smaller Google Map

Hi:

I'm really new to all this so hope you'll bear with me...:-)

I am entering in a database of sites for an upcoming retreat. I will eventually post it on the web for the atendees to review. I am trying to create a small google map, one that just has the locale pinpointed and the zoom-in/zoom-out bars enabled. I don't want the address bubble. I don't want all the google menu text.

I read the FMPro forum posts on customizing Google Maps. I tried the tips on the following post, but could not get it to work. (I don't quite understand where to insert the info, since mine is not an address written into the container, it is taken from the form...)

http://forums.filemaker.com/posts/f24b854d9f

Here's what my map coding text (is this called a script?) looks like...

"http://maps.google.com/maps?" & "q=" & /*Address=*/ cabindetails::address1 & "," & /*City=*/ "" & "," & /*State=*/ "" & "," & /*Zip Code=*/ cabindetails::zip_code & "," & /*Country=*/""

At the small size I want (roughly 4" x 4" square) all you see it the big title "Google Map" and some menu items. You can't even see the map...

I'd love any help you could offer. Once on the web, I want the user to be able to see the general location, and be able to zoom in and out. That's it.

If the answer involves coding (I'm sure it will), please try to be very specific, since I'm not very techy.

Thanks SO MUCH!

• 1. Re: Making a smaller Google Map
          KenKing

This post is old, but still relevant, so I'll try to answer it. 

First, you'll need to define a custom function (not sure if all FM flavors custom functions, but FM Advanced does).

Here's a link to a site that has a function almost exactly to your specifications (nothing but the map, and the zoom/direction/map buttons): http://www.briandunning.com/cf/1085