many to many relationship

Dasa

Title

many to many relationship

Hi, I am an amateur using FM 10 on Mac 10.6

I have a database for art objects with these tables:

art object (has one contact/location at a time) WORKING

contacts (can have many art objects at a time) WORKING

exhibitions (can have many objects and an art object can have many exhibitions) NOT WORKING

How do I make a functional many to many relationship between art objects and exhibitions?

Each table has one ID field.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: many to many relationship
          Jade

One approach is to add a join table ("Exhibition_Object") that contains one object_id and one exhibition_id on each record.  There may be other fields on this table that are uniquely associated with each exhibition - object combination.

This way, one object can be assigned to multiple exhibitions (obviously not at the same time) and one exhibition can have many objects.

The  relationships  between the Table Occurrences should look like this:

Exhibitions  -< Exhibition_Object >- Objects >- Contacts

( -< denotes a one-to-many relationship )

The portal(s) should be based on Exhibition_Object so that the ID's can be posted in the join table.  

• 2. Re: many to many relationship
            Dasa

Actually one object can have multiple exhibitions at the same time, I want to track each object's exhibition history.

Does that make a difference?

Thank you!

• 3. Re: many to many relationship
              Jade

I think the structure still works.  It may be simpler since you no longer have to verify that the exhibit-object combination is unique by date/time and location.